Home Forums Blog Talk Bad PR for your blog?

4 replies, 3 voices Last updated by Catherine Armato 9 years, 7 months ago
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Jessica/YDWWYW/PetTalkMedia
      Participant
      @adventurejess

Do you consider that you are the PR person for your own blog? I do and would totally say that I have some PR experience on a resume (in the context of my blog of course).

One thing that PR people are trained to do is handle negative sentiment about a brand. If something “goes off the rails” they need to be able to recognize the issue and start steering sentiment in a more positive direction to protect the brand’s reputation.

It’s amazing to me how electronic communications can be misconstrued. I often write an email or a social media post with one intention and find that the feedback that I get makes obvious that it was interpreted a different way than I intended. Usually it is just a “huh” moment for me – like I never thought of it that way. Sometimes people clearly interpret what I said in a negative way and lash out at me or my “brand”.

I had that happen to me today. I made a statement of fact about a certain faction believing a certain thing about what happened with the lawsuit over Obie the obese dachshund. Specifically, I made he statement that some people believed that the lawsuit over custody (filed by a rescue) was over money. I got a message from a long-time follower that they interpreted it as ME saying I believed that, that they couldn’t believe I would claim that, and that they were going to unfollow my page. I responded that I was stating fact (many people DO think that although I am not sure myself), apologized for giving her the wrong impression, and said that I would remove that statement from the post. I then posted at explanation/apology to my Facebook page.

You can check it out at the link below if you want. https://www.facebook.com/YouDidWhatWithYourWeiner