6 replies, 3 voices Last updated by Emily Patterson-Kane 10 years, 9 months ago
Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Nick Braun
      Participant
      @nick

Does anybody out there have experience with pet health insurance? I’d love to get people’s thoughts on the subject and would like to share stories and perspectives.  

Dr. Anna M. Coffin
      Participant
      @ACoffin

I’m a veterinarian and use VPI as a staff benefit.  They are easy to work with and I have never had problems with payments.  I wish more pet parents would purchase it as I see many unfortunate outcomes to some circumstances.  Most all pet insurances are indemnity insurance and they normally don’t dictate what vet you use or specify treatments.

Nick Braun
      Participant
      @nick

Dr. Coffin,

Thanks for the thoughtful response – I could not agree more! We are building support from the veterinary community and I’d love to feature you on our blog. We ask veterinarians 10 questions and then post them on our blog. This gives pet owners real perspective on pet insurance from the source. If you’d be willing to answer these questions we’ll add a link to your blog or clinic website. Thanks! Nick

1. Why did you decide to become a veterinarian?
      2. Tell us about your pets
      3. Where did you go to veterinary school?
      4. What’s the most expensive veterinary treatment you’ve experienced?
      5. What’s the most common $1,000+ treatment you see?
      6. What is the best advancement in veterinary medicine in the past 10 years?
      7. When is the first time you were introduced to the idea of pet insurance?
      8. Tell us about your best pet insurance claim story
      9. What would you recommend pet owners look for in a pet insurance company?
      10. Your general thoughts on the future of pet insurance in the U.S.

Dr. Anna M. Coffin said: